Breguet heads 15 winners at the watchmaking Oscars

Classique Chronome¦ütrie 7727BR

Winners of the Swiss watch industry’s “Oscars” for 2014 have just been announced, with the major prize going to Breguet and category awards covering a spread of brands from A.Lange & Sohne to Zenith.

The judges awarded the coveted “Aiguille d’Or” distinction to Breguet for their Classic Chronométrie model, pictured above, while 16 other prizes covered categories from chronographs to jewelled triumphs.

Surprises? Naturally the Swiss dominated proceedings, but not exclusively; Netherlands brand Gronefeld took out the tourbillon prize, Grand Seiko the small complication prize, and the Special Jury prize was awarded to revered German watchmaker Walter Lange.

The award giving ceremony attracted 1500 guests including influential figures from the world of watchmaking, finance and politics, while a record number of entries was received from every major watchmaking group as well as independents.

And the winners are:

Classique Chronome¦ütrie 7727BR soldat (1)

“Aiguille d’Or” Grand Prix: Breguet, Classique Chronométrie


Ladies’ Watch Prize: Blancpain, Women Off-Centred Hour


Ladies’ High-Mech Watch Prize: Christophe Claret, Margot

UJS Mode¦Çle 1-1 (1)

Men’s Watch Prize: Urban Jürgensen & Sonner, Central Second


Chronograph Watch Prize: De Bethune, DB29 Maxichrono

Grönefeld - 2014

Tourbillon Watch Prize: Grönefeld, Parallax Tourbillon


Calendar ALS_180_032_RS_a4

Calendar Watch Prize: A. Lange & Söhne, Richard Lange Perpetual Calendar “Terraluna”


Striking Watch Prize: Hublot, Classic Fusion Cathedral Tourbillon Minute Repeater


Mechanical Exception Watch Prize: Urwerk, EMC


“Petite Aiguille” Prize: Seiko, Grand Seiko Hi-Beat 36000 GMT

El Primero Lightweight_2

Sports Watch Prize: Zenith, El Primero Lightweight


Jewellery Watch Prize: Bulgari, Diva High Jewellery Emeralds

Hisui cadran Voutilainen

Artistic Crafts Watch Prize: Voutilainen, Hisui



“Revival” Watch Prize: Omega, Speedmaster “Dark Side Of The Moon”


Innovation Watch Prize: Urwerk, EMC

Walter Lange von der Uhrenmanufaktur Lange und Söhne vor der B

Special Jury Prize: Walter Lange

Facebook Twitter Pinterest Plusone Linkedin